Don’t quote me on this…

70242.adapt.768.1.jpg

Ordinarily, I would write something original here, but if you will bare with me for a moment, I would like to share something with you that is unoriginal. Back in December, our pastor shared a message on Matthew 13 about the man who discovers a treasure in a field and a merchant who found a pearl of great value. It was a great message and it has really stuck with me. I think about it often and thought, perhaps, it could be an encouragement and hopefully a challenge for you.

So, lets look at the text first. Matthew 13:44-46 “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field. Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls. When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it.”  3 verses that are packed full of truth. Pastor Randy spoke about 5 points of similarity in these two stories. Here they are:

  1. Both men recognized the value of what they had discovered. Immediately, these men knew that they had found something extraordinary.
  2. Both men recognized the implications of their discovery. They knew that there would be radical change in their lives.
  3. Both were filled with joy and excitement about what they discovered.
  4. Both were so inspired by what they had discovered that they were prepared to forfeit everything else for it. What they had gained was so valuable everything else paled in comparison. There was nothing else that would compromise what they had discovered.
  5. Both took immediate aggressive action. Neither was apathetic or passive about their discovery.

I have been thinking and meditating on this passage of scripture and seeking the Lord about why it has not left my mind. What is it about this passage that burdens me so much. I think the answer is apathy. Apathy is a plague on the church. I know in my life personally, if I don’t keep it in check, it creeps in before I even realize it. Do I still have a genuine joy and excitement about my salvation? Has this treasure I’ve found radically changed my life? Am I ready to forfeit EVERYTHING else for it?

The things of this world are a powerful distraction. I want my salvation, but I also want the freedom to live my life the way I want. Don’t ask me to be radical. This is the trap many believers, myself included, can fall into. But, do we truly understand and recognize the value of the treasure we have found? If we did, immediate aggressive action would follow. Everything else in our lives would become complete and total loss in comparison. These things would be a natural response. We would not consider it radical, it would be logical.

This is the desire of my heart. I pray that the Lord would keep always before my eyes the value of this treasure that I have found. I pray that my response would be complete and utter surrender of everything else. I pray that I would “consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ” Philippians 3:8
I pray that my soul would never be satisfied with anything less.

Leave a Reply

